2 comments on “From My Blackened Mind: Death- Being There

  1. Profoundly beautiful post. I laid with my dad after he passed. As a writer, I still cannot put the experience nor emotions into words. I’d like to think you’ll see Gil again. You made the time to allow him into your heart; that’s something that simply won’t go away 🙂

    • I have to apologize that I am so late in responding to you 😦

      Thank you for your kind words. I also sat with my dad after he passed at the young age of 47. I find myself constantly thinking of him and finding new ways of incorporating him into the many stories I write. It’s my way of remembering him, honoring him.

      You’re very right though, there is really no way to put the experience or the plethora of emotions we experience into words. Gil was a patient I took care of- a wonderful man that definitely affected my life. But NOTHING compares to losing someone as close to you as a parent. They helped shape you into the person you are today. I can totally relate to your loss- it’s truly a devastating blow. It’s really something that you re-visit in your head time and time again. I know that I constantly ask the ‘what-if’s’ or ‘why him’s’…but know that I cannot dwell there. You never truly get over a loss so close to you… you just DEAL with it.

      These people will forever hold a special place in our hearts and will always be in our thoughts. Thanks for commenting Joseph ❤ Much appreciated 😀

Leave a Reply

